Farewell to Elementary School Celebrations

In light of the current COVID pandemic and the strong regulations in place regarding gatherings of 50 or more people, SD 22 elementary schools have made the difficult decision to not hold formal farewell celebrations for the students leaving elementary school for high school this year. We understand how difficult and upsetting this may be for students and families. Many students have been at their elementary school for a number of years and have formed strong and meaningful relationships with staff and students. 

Although we are looking forward to students returning to schools before the end of this school year, the impact of the PHO restrictions still make it impossible and unsafe to consider any type of group gathering. As always, the safety of our students is first and foremost and we appreciate your understanding and support as we all work together to keep our families safe and healthy.

Students please know how proud of you we are. You are being asked to make sacrifices now that will benefit your future and that of the larger community. You have handled yourself beautifully in the face of adversity, and we want to wish each of you great success on your continued educational journey. 

If you have any questions at all, please contact your school principal.

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” ~ Nelson Mandela 

Joe Rogers                    

Superintendent of Schools


Mary Takasaka (J.W. Inglis), Lea Sherwood (Harwood), Angela Utley (Ellison), Mike Sutch (Alexis Park), Moira Manthorne (Beairsto), Tyler Galenzoski (BX Elementary), Candy Siegmueller (Coldstream), Colline Johnson (Mission Hill), Jodi van der Meer (Okanagan Landing), Jacquie Taylor (Silver Star)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print